What you need to know with regard to the EU-UK relations after Brexit: working, studying in UK, travelling, ordering goods etc.

Read more.

Updated information about restrictions on movement for passengers arriving in Estonia as of 8 January

Starting from Monday 11 January, the restriction on the freedom of movement does not apply to passengers arriving in Estonia from a country of the European Union, the European Economic Area and the Schengen area with an infection rate below 50 persons per 100 000 inhabitants. As of now, only passengers arriving from Iceland are not subject to the restriction on movement. These passengers also do not need to take a test on their arrival in Estonia.

Based on the coronavirus infection rate, starting from Monday 11 January, a 10-day restriction on the freedom of movement applies to passengers arriving from the following European countries: Andorra, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland*, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia*, Liechtenstein, Lithuania*, Luxembourg, Malta, Monaco, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland. The infection rate of the Vatican is 0 but anyone travelling to Estonia from there through Italy is subject to the 10-day restriction on the freedom of movement.

Starting from 1 January 2021, passengers arriving in Estonia from the United Kingdom are subject to an additional obligation introduced by the Government of Estonia to take a COVID-19 test no earlier than 72 hours before arrival, and the result of the rest must be negative. The test is not compulsory for children under the age of 10. The rule applies even in cases when the passenger has only transited through the United Kingdom on their way to Estonia. The passenger must remain in their home or accommodation for 14 days after their arrival from the United Kingdom. The period of self-isolation can be shortened if a second test taken 7 days after arrival is also negative. More information: https://www.kriis.ee/et/uudised/uuest-aastast-muutuvad-uhendkuningriigis…

The infection rate limit for passengers arriving in Estonia is reviewed on a weekly basis on Fridays and the new limit will take force the following Monday.

* Based on Order No 282 of the Government of Estonia, the restriction on the freedom of movement does not apply to asymptomatic people who have been on the territory of Lithuania, Latvia or Finland in the past 14 days and have arrived to Estonia directly from Lithuania, Latvia or Finland with the following preconditions.

(1) The person has taken a coronavirus test within 48 hours before their arrival in Estonia and the result is negative. When travelling to these countries from Estonia and returning to Estonia, it is possible to take the coronavirus test in Estonia, and return to normal life in case of a negative result. It is required to remain in self-isolation while waiting for the test results.

(2) They arrive in Estonia for the purpose of working, studying or receiving health services or for family reasons or transit. When travelling to Estonia for the reasons listed above, it is not required to take a coronavirus test before arriving in Estonia.

Information about countries and rules that apply to passengers arriving from these countries is available on the website of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs.

An exception applies to residents of countries included in Annex 1 of the recommendation of the Council of the European Union on the condition that the infection rate in these countries is below 16. On 17 December, the Council of the European Union reviewed the list of third countries included in Annex 1 of its recommendation on the gradual lifting of the temporary restrictions on non-essential travel into the EU*, and according to the list, it is possible to travel to Estonia from Australia, Japan, New Zealand, Rwanda, Singapore, South Korea, and Thailand. Passengers arriving from South Korea and Japan are subject to the 10-day restriction on movement. Anyone arriving from the remaining countries listed by the Council are not required to restrict their movement.

Press release on the reviewed list of countries included in Annex 1 of the recommendation of the Council of the European Union

From 1 September, people arriving in Estonia from high-risk countries can shorten the mandatory self-isolation and return to work by testing for COVID-19 at the airport and port. Please refer to the website of the Estonian Health Board and the website: https://koroonatestimine.ee/

Due to the spread of the coronavirus, the Ministry of Foreign Affairs advises against any non-essential international travel.

In cases where travelling is essential, the Foreign Ministry advises keeping the following in mind:

  • before planning your trip, please consult the Foreign Ministry website for the infection rate in your planned country of destination;
  • for information about restrictions in your destination, please consult the Reisi Targalt website, the ReOpen portal of the European Union, or contact the representation of the country for more details;
  • register your trip at the Foreign Ministry’s Reisi Targalt website to allow us to notify you of possible travel restrictions;
  • follow the recommendations of the Estonian Health Board for a safe flight; if you show symptoms, please postpone your trip and contact your GP;
  • take out travel insurance and carefully read the conditions of your insurance (including for travel interruptions caused by COVID-19);
  • at your destination, follow the instructions of local authorities and keep up to date with possible new restrictions;
  • on your return, follow the rules introduced in Estonia, and if you suspect you have been infected with the virus, contact your GP.

We would like to highlight that countries can change their conditions for entry and stay at short notice. We recommend contacting the representation or the relevant authorities of your destination country for more detailed information about the conditions that apply there.

Please call the national helpline 1247 (+372 600 1247 when calling from abroad) for additional information on the coronavirus and restriction on the freedom of movement.

Source: Estonian Ministry of Foreign Affairs