How to apply for a Schengen visa

All short-term Schengen visa applications shall be submitted at the VFS Global service centres

Information about Schengen visas

Schengen visa is a visa for short stays (tourism, visit or business) valid in the following countries: Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Croatia, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxemburg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

If the travel destination includes more than one Schengen member state, the application must be lodged at the representation of the main destination. The main destination is understood to be the destination where you intend to spend the longest time or where the main purpose of the intended journey is carried out.

If you wish to visit several Schengen member states and you are not sure of the state of main destination or plan to spend the equal number of days in each state, the visa must be applied for at the representation of the state through which the visa applicant intends to enter the Schengen area.


A foreign citizen has the right to appeal the decision on refusal, annulment or revocation of a visa.

Please note that the embassy does not provide any further details regarding a refusal. The reason for the refusal is listed in the decision letter and the embassy is unable to provide any further information.

The refused visa applicant or a visa holder whose visa has been annulled or revoked can turn to the relevant representation by submitting a written application within 30 days.

Documents to be submitted when contesting the decision:
1) a filled-out application form (in English; in Estonian);
2) documents proving the reason for contesting the decision (documents that supplement the circumstances presented in the original visa application). Documents that change the content and factual circumstances of the original visa application or prove circumstances that have arisen after the refusal decision shall not be attached to the application);
3) a copy of the personal data page of the travel document of the person contesting the decision or their legal or authorised representative;
4) a document certifying the payment of the state fee.

The documents listed above must be sent by post to the following address:

FAO: Consular Section
Estonian Embassy in London
44 Queen’s Gate Terrace

The fee charged for processing the appeal is 80 .

Bank accounts of the MINISTRY OF FINANCE for collecting the appeal fee are the following:

  • SEB Pank  EE891010220034796011  (BIC/SWIFT: EEUHEE2X)
  • Swedbank  EE932200221023778606  (BIC/SWIFT: HABAEE2X)
  • LHV Pank EE777700771003813400 (BIC/SWIFT: LHVBEE22)
  • Luminor Bank  EE701700017001577198  (BIC/SWIFT: RIKOEE22)

Reference: 2900073630; review of the appeal; full name of the applicant
(please ensure the reference number 2900073630 is added to the payment notes, as otherwise it will take us longer to locate your payment)

If the applicant wishes to pay the fee in GBP, please e-mail us at [email protected] for further instructions. Please note this option is only available for first stage appeal, the second stage appeal fee must be paid to the Ministry of Finance directly.

Please note the fee will be taken for the review of an appeal.

If the decision remains unchanged, it is possible to submit a second appeal to the consular department of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs within 30 days from receipt of notification (address: Islandi väljak 1, 15049 Tallinn, Estonia).