What you need to know with regard to the EU-UK relations after Brexit: working, studying in UK, travelling, ordering goods etc.

Read more.

Updated information about countries and self-isolation requirements for passengers arriving in Estonia from 4 January

Starting from Monday 4 January, the mandatory self-isolation does not apply to passengers arriving in Estonia from a country of the European Union and the European Economic Area, the Schengen area and a country included on the common list of the EU with an infection rate below 50 persons per 100 000 inhabitants.

Based on the coronavirus infection rate, starting from Monday 4 January, the 10-day restriction on the freedom of movement applies to people arriving in Estonia from the following European countries: Andorra, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland*, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia*, Liechtenstein, Lithuania*, Luxembourg, Malta, Monaco, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland. The infection rate of the Vatican is 0 but anyone travelling to Estonia from there through Italy is subject to the 10-day restriction on the freedom of movement.

According to the current infection rate, the restriction does not apply to passengers arriving from Iceland. Passengers arriving in Estonia from Iceland are not required to take a test.

On 30 December, the Government of Estonia decided on requiring from passengers travelling from the United Kingdom to Estonia an additional negative COVID-19 test done not more that 72 hours before the beginning of the trip. No test is required from children under 10 years of age. Travelers who arrive form the United Kingdom to Estonia during the coming days and do not have the possibility to take the test 72 hours before the trip, have to be tested immediately upon arrival. These regulations apply also to passengers transiting through the United Kingdom on their way to Estonia. Passengers coming from the United Kingdom must still self-isolate for 14 days after the arrival. The 14-day self-isolation period may be shortened if the person takes another test on the seventh day after arrival and if both tests are negative.
The end of transition period of the United Kingdom’s exit from the European Union also affects travel. More information: https://vm.ee/en/activities-objectives/what-do-you-need-know-regard-eu-u…

* Based on Order No 282 of Government of Estonia, the restriction on the freedom of movement does not apply to asymptomatic people who have been on the territory of Lithuania, Latvia or Finland in the past 14 days and have arrived to Estonia directly from Lithuania, Latvia or Finland with the following preconditions:
(1) the person has taken a coronavirus test within 48 hours before their arrival in Estonia and the result is negative. When travelling to these countries from Estonia and returning to Estonia, it is possible to take the coronavirus test in Estonia, and return to normal life in case of a negative result. It is required to remain in self-isolation while waiting for the test results.
(2) the person arrives in Estonia for the purpose of working, studying or receiving health services, for family reasons or transit. When travelling to Estonia for the reasons listed above, it is not required to take a coronavirus test before arriving in Estonia.
Information about countries and requirements is available on the website of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs: https://vm.ee/en/information-countries-and-self-isolation-requirements-p

On 17 December, the Council of the European Union reviewed the list of third countries included in Annex 1 of its recommendation on the gradual lifting of the temporary restrictions on non-essential travel into the EU*. According to the list, it is possible to travel to Estonia from Australia, Japan, South Korea, New Zealand, Rwanda, Singapore, Thailand and Uruguay. Passengers arriving from Japan and South Korea are subject to a 10-day restriction on the freedom of movement. Anyone arriving from the remaining countries listed by the Council are not required to restrict their movement.
* The press release on the reviewed list of countries included in Annex 1 of the recommendation of the Council of the European Union is available here: http://bit.ly/3nrMRiN

Starting from 1 September, passengers returning to Estonia from high-risk countries of COVID-19 can shorten the mandatory self-isolation and return to work by testing for COVID-19 at the airport and port. Additional information about testing is available on the website of the Estonian Health Board and the website: https://koroonatestimine.ee/

Due to the spread of the coronavirus, the Ministry of Foreign Affairs advises against any non-essential international travel. If the travelling is unavoidable, the Foreign Ministry advises keeping the following in mind:
• before planning your trip, please consult the Foreign Ministry website for the infection rate in your planned country of destination;
• stay up to date with possible travel restrictions in your destination – please consult the Reisi Targalt website, the ReOpen portal of the European Union, and, if necessary, contact the foreign mission of the country of destination for details;
• register your trip at the Foreign Ministry’s Reisi Targalt website to allow us to notify you of possible travel restrictions;
• follow the recommendations of the Estonian Health Board for a safe flight to protect your health and that of others – if you show symptoms, please postpone your trip and contact your GP;
• take out travel insurance and carefully read the conditions of your insurance (including for travel interruptions caused by COVID-19);
• at your destination, follow the instructions of local authorities and keep up to date with possible new restrictions;
• on your return, follow the rules introduced in Estonia, monitor your health, and if you suspect you have been infected with the virus, contact your GP.
It is advised to avoid any international travel unless urgent and to keep in mind that countries can change their conditions for entry and stay at short notice. For more detailed information on the conditions of the destination country, we recommend contacting the representation or the relevant authorities of the country.
Information about the coronavirus and restrictions on the freedom of movement is available on the Kriis.ee website: https://kkk.kriis.ee/ or by calling the national helpline 1247 (+372 600 1247 when calling from abroad).

Source: Estonian Ministry of Foreign Affairs