What do you need to know with regard to the EU-UK future relations?

Read more.

Updated information about countries and self-isolation requirements for passengers arriving in Estonia as of 9 October

On 9 October, the Estonian government decided to revise the self-isolation rules that apply to border crossing.

The mandatory self-isolation does not apply to passengers arriving in Estonia from a country of the European Union and the European Economic Area, the Schengen area and a country included in the common list of the EU with an infection rate below 50 persons per 100 000 inhabitants. From now on, this limit will be reviewed on a weekly basis on Fridays and the new limit will take force the following Monday.

Based on the coronavirus infection rate, starting from Monday 12 October, a two-week restriction on the freedom of movement will apply to passengers arriving in Estonia from the following European countries: Andorra, Austria, Belgium, Croatia, the Czech Republic, Denmark, France, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Lithuania*, Luxembourg, Malta, Monaco, the Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, Romania, San Marino, Slovakia, Slovenia, Switzerland and the United Kingdom.

The restriction on the freedom of movement does not apply to passengers arriving from the following countries: Bulgaria, Cyprus, Finland, Germany, Greece, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Norway, and the Vatican.

* According to the 25 September decision of the Government of Estonia, the restriction on the freedom of movement does not apply to passengers arriving from Lithuania in the following cases: if they arrive for the purpose of working, studying or receiving health services or for family reasons or transit and they have no symptoms and known contacts with infected persons.

Information about countries and requirements is available on the website of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs: https://vm.ee/en/information-countries-and-self-isolation-requirements-p…

On 7 August, the Council of the European Union reviewed the list of third countries included in Annex 1 of its recommendation on the gradual lifting of the temporary restrictions on non-essential travel into the EU*, and according to the list, it is possible to travel to Estonia from Australia, Canada, Georgia, Japan, New Zealand, Rwanda, South Korea, Thailand, Tunisia, and Uruguay. Passengers arriving from Canada, Georgia and Tunisia are subject to a two-week restriction on the freedom of movement. Passengers arriving in Estonia from any of the remaining countries on the list are not obligated to restrict their freedom of movement for 14 days from next week.

From 1 September, people arriving in Estonia from high-risk countries can shorten the mandatory self-isolation and return to work by testing for COVID-19 at the airport and port. Additional information about testing is available on the website of the Estonian Health Board.

*The press release on the updated list in Annex 1 of the recommendation is available here https://www.consilium.europa.eu/en/press/press-releases/2020/08/07/lifti….

Due to the spread of the coronavirus, the Ministry of Foreign Affairs advises against any non-essential international travel.

In cases where travelling is essential, the Foreign Ministry advises keeping the following in mind:

  • before planning your trip, please consult the Foreign Ministry website for the infection rate in your planned country of destination;
  • stay up to date with possible travel restrictions in your destination – please consult the Reisi Targalt website, the ReOpen portal of the European Union, and, if necessary, contact the foreign mission of the country of destination for details;
  • register your trip at the Foreign Ministry’s Reisi Targalt website to allow us to notify you of possible travel restrictions;
  • follow the recommendations of the Estonian Health Board for a safe flight to protect your health and that of others – if you show symptoms, please postpone your trip and contact your GP;
  • take out travel insurance and carefully read the conditions of your insurance (including for travel interruptions caused by COVID-19);
  • at your destination, follow the instructions of local authorities and keep up to date with possible new restrictions;
  • on your return, follow the rules introduced in Estonia, monitor your health, and if you suspect you have been infected with the virus, contact your GP.

We would like to highlight that countries can change their conditions for entry and stay at short notice. We recommend contacting the representation or the relevant authorities of your destination country for more detailed information about the conditions that apply there.

Information about the coronavirus and restrictions on the freedom of movement is available on the Kriis.ee website: https://kkk.kriis.ee/en or by calling the national helpline 1247 (+372 600 1247 when calling from abroad).

Source: Estonian Ministry of Foreign Affairs