On 2 July a Virtual Master Class for Cyber Diplomacy 2020 takes place

In a digitally connected world cybersecurity is crucial. More than ever it is also shaping international relations.

On 2 July the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Estonia will be hosting an open master class on cyber diplomacy. Tune in to our livestream at 13.00 BST / 15.00 EEST / 14.00 CET / 8.00 am EST on Youtube or Facebook and hear from expert speakers from all over the world.

It will feature insights on different aspects of cyber diplomacy, including international law applying in cyberspace, norms of responsible state behaviour, confidence building measures, and cyber capacity building.

If you would like to submit a question to any of the speakers, please do so prior to the event by e-mailing cyber.masterclass@mfa.ee.

Agenda (times given in EEST):

  • 15.00- 15.30

Introductory remarks by Amb Heli Tiirmaa Klaar, Estonian MFA
“Agenda for Cyber Diplomacy”

  • 15.30-16.15

Lecture by Dr James Lewis, Center for Strategic and International Studies
“Cyber Stability Framework: Norms of Responsible State Behavior, International Law, CBMs”

  • 16.15-17.00

Lecture by Dr Kubo Mačák, International Committee of the Red Cross
“International Humanitarian Law in Cyberspace”

  • 17.00-17.45

Lecture by Dr Catherine Lotrionte, Institute for International Cyber Stability
“The Applicability of Customary International Law to Cyber Operations”

  • 17.45-18.30

Lecture by Chris Painter, Global Forum for Cyber Expertise
“Cyber Capacity Building: State of Play, Coordination and Challenges”

  • 18.30-18.45

Presentation by Siim Alatalu, EU CyberNet, Estonian Information System Authority
“EU CyberNet  – the European Union Cyber Capacity Building Network”

  • 18.45-19.30

Lecture by Tõnu Tammer, CERT Estonia
“Threats in Cyberspace: how to Prevent, Manage and Recover?”

Source: Estonian Ministry of Foreign Affairs